The Heartbeat of Haverhill

Good News from A Great City Haverhill, MA

A Haverhill (Bradford) Garden Featured in New Book on Bottle Trees and Garden Glass

Haverhill residents: Do You Know Where This House Is?

Haverhill Residents: Do You Know Where to Find This House Bedecked in Bottle Trees? Hint: It’s near the former Bradford (now NorthPoint) College Campus.

This picture of a colorful yard of a local Haverhill family is featured in a new book on bottle trees and garden glass. And I know this because I just received my autographed copy of the new hardcover book: Bottle Trees and the Whimsical Art of Garden Glass by Southern Celebrity Gardener and Public Radio Personality, Felder Rushing. It’s a beautiful little book with creativity that will amaze you.

Bottle Trees and the Whimsical Art of Garden Glass by Felder Rushing

“Bottle Trees and the Whimsical Art of Garden Glass” by Celebrity Southern Gardener, Felder Rushing

Book is available at:  http://www.amazon.com/Bottle-Trees-Whimsical-Garden/dp/0983272697

I  can even unravel the mystery of  how this Bradford house got discovered by a man who putters around his diverse gardens  in Mississippi and rural England and has never visited Haverhill.

The first bottle tree I ever saw in Mississippi

The first bottle tree I ever saw in Mississippi

Last May, I became obsessed with bottle trees after witnessing this foreign phenomenon on a visit to Mississippi. I’d never heard of nor seen such a thing before that trip, so of course it warranted a little research. After a quick Google search, the name that kept coming up was Felder Rushing. I emailed his website along with several others, but Mr. Rushing was the only one who really gave me the time of day. I kept asking questions and he kept answering. And when I decided a blog post was in order, he offered to let me use the photos from his website. In no time, I viewed enough trees with enough bottles to fill a recycling center.  When we started emailing, I didn’t know who Felder Rushing was but I told my husband about this super nice guy who was helping me with my blog.  My husband lived many years throughout the south and asked “Do you know who he is?  He’s pretty famous.”  My husband ( a non-gardener) knew my new email friend has as avid a cult following as Taylor Swift does in her field and I was taking up his time with all my “but why” questions.

Bradford House Torquoise Bottle Tree section

Bradford House Turquoise Bottle Tree section

You know how it is when you buy a new car and suddenly see that same car everywhere? That’s what I hoped for so I kept looking for bottle trees throughout New England while recognizing I had as much chance of finding a bottle tree as Big Foot. Then, one day I was simply stunned to see a wave of glinting cobalt blue right here in Bradford. I’d found the bottle tree mother lode. I grabbed a few photos, enjoyed a brief chat with the bottle tree garden cultivator (She won a Haverhill Garden Club award for her creation http://www.haverhillgardenclub.org/ ) and was off to write my blog.  Eventually my thoughts and research became the very tongue-in-cheek: “EMBRACE PROHIBITION (Bottle Trees – A New Englander’s View)”  http://wp.me/p13Md6-sY

My autographed copy from Felder Rushing

My autographed copy from Felder Rushing

Toward the end of the year, I heard back from Mr. Rushing who requested permission to use one of my photos in a book he was just finishing up on bottle trees. I echoed his generous spirit and said “sure” just give me a photo credit and let me know if I need to get approval from the homeowner whose name and street address I could no longer remember, but I could find. He told me his lawyers said no approval was needed and agreed to my terms.

In print Bradford bottle tree garden and my name, almost

In print, Bradford bottle tree garden and my name, almost

Today I got a package in the mail. And there midway through his book without page numbers is this right hand photo with a credit that reads “Alison Campbell (my name is Colby-Campbell), Bedford, MA. So lovely Bradford neighbor neither you nor I have to worry about the paparazzi showing up on our doorsteps…at least until the second edition comes out! But we are pretty nearly famous. And  it’s still the most exciting thing that’s happened to me all week.

©2013 by Alison Colby-Campbell

6 comments on “A Haverhill (Bradford) Garden Featured in New Book on Bottle Trees and Garden Glass

  1. Roxann Carstensen
    May 15, 2013

    Be sure to visit this garden in September when it is at its peak glory…

  2. brain4rent
    May 15, 2013

    I actually drove by today and a year after that photo was taken, I can say it looks pretty nice in Spring, too

  3. lynnefavreau
    May 16, 2013

    My daughters are patients of Dr. Ferlito on Main st, we deliberately go around the block to pass this house. We’re collecting red vases to do our own tree. This is a great example of why one should never hesitate to ask questions. What a wonderful connection you’ve made.

    • brain4rent
      May 18, 2013

      Be sure to send me a photo when you get your tree done. I’ve always thought I’d like reds and oranges if I did a tree, but those colors are hard to come by..good luck

  4. brain4rent
    May 16, 2013

    A friend of mine on FB already asked me for directions, so what the book got wrong, may keep outsiders searching in vain, but townies know where to go. Thank you for your comment.

  5. Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iPad and tested to see if
    it can survive a 40 foot drop, just so she can be a youtube sensation.
    My iPad is now destroyed and she has 83 views.
    I know this is completely off topic but I had
    to share it with someone!

Leave a Reply

Alison Colby-Campbell

Brain4Rent/THoH

Brain4Rent/THoH

Full-brain user demonstrating a healthy(?) obsession with marketing, promotion, writing, photography, house rabbits, the natural world, tennis, big and small problem solving, reading, hiking, HGTV and the flotsam & jetsam of everyday life. My three blogs Brain4Rent, The Heartbeat of Haverhill, Alison Colby-Campbell Photography are Wordpress based.

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 174 other followers

The Heartbeat of Haverhill Post Archives

